If you are recording a route and you are moving, a red line will appear on the map. This red line indicates your movement. An example is displayed in the figure below:
The record clock on the dashboard indicates the time you are recording. In the figure above this is 0h17m.
The route distance meter on the dashboard indicates the length of a recorded route. In the example above this is 778 m.
You can modify the color, width and transparency of the record line in the settings.
While recording you can safely lock your device or switch to another app. This will not interrupt the recording.
Warning: To ensure that a route is recorded properly it is very important to set the iPhone/iPad setting > Topo GPS > location to ‘Always’ (Fig. 2). With this setting you give Topo GPS the possibility to process your location if Topo GPS is running in the background. If this setting is incorrect you will be shown a warning when you start recording a route.
Showing a route while recording¶
If you have loaded one or more routes on the map, you can record a route at the same time. An example is shown below:
The blue line indicates the loaded route with a length of 1.9 km, the red line the recorded route with a length of 778 m.
If you press ‘Stop’ the recording will be finished. A screen that gives you the possibility to save save the recorded route will appear.
If you press ‘Pause’ in the pop-up of Figure 4, the recording of a route will be paused. Your movement will be no longer recorded.
The record clock will be set to –:– during a pause, while the record distance meter will show the recorded distance as you can see below:
If you press ‘Restart’ the recording will be continued. If you press ‘Stop’ the recording of a route will be finished and you will be given the possibility to save the recorded route.
Saving recorded route¶
If you have finished the recording of a route a screen will appear in which you can save the recorded route. An example is displayed below:
In this screen you can subsequently enter the title, the author and a description.
Based on the start and finish point of the route an automatic suggestion for the route title will be made. This suggestion appears in the title field if you do not enter a title yourself. If you do not enter a title, the suggestion will be used when saving the route. In the example above the suggestion is ‘Seascale’.
To ensure automatic title suggestion functions properly, the option ‘Addresses - Find automatically’ should be enabled in the settings.
If you press the ‘>’ on the right hand side of the title you can add an URL.
If you press the ‘>’ on the right hand side of the title you can add contact information, and copyright and license details. If you save a route also the author and copyright details will be saved for future use. If you record or plan a new route, the same author and copyright details will already be filled in. Therefore you do not have to reenter these details when saving the next recorded route.
You can alter the route type by pressing the route type cell. If you save the route, the current route type will be used as a suggestion for the next saved route. If you for example only record bicycles routes you therefore only have to set the route type once.
Waypoints that are currently shown on the map can be included with the route by setting the switch ‘Include waypoints’ on. If you do not want to save the currently displayed waypoints with the route you have to turn this switch off.
If you are ready, you can press ‘Save’ on the top right to save the recorded route. If you do not want to save the route you can press ‘Cancel’ on the top left.
Be aware, the route will be saved into the folder that is currently opened in the routes screen.
After you have saved the recorded route, a pop-up will appear that ask you if you would like to share your route with Topo GPS, or with Twitter/Facebook (only if you have installed these apps). If you choose Topo GPS you can share your route with other Topo GPS users, so that they can import your recorded route. You can also choose ‘Cancel’. It is also possible to share the recorded route later.
The screen that appears is the route details screen. You can load the recorded route on the map by pressing ‘Load’ on the top right of this screen.
If you would like to load the saved recorded route on the map later, you have to press the route button on the dashboard. If you did not go to another folder, you will see the saved route on the top of the list. You can load your route by pressing the title.
In the section organizing routes and waypoints it is explained how to move your route to another folder.