Making map offline accessible¶
To ensure that the maps are accessible when your are not connected to internet (offline) you can make maps offline accessible. Offline accessible means that the maps are stored on your device and that you can view them without a internet connection.
The maps in Topo GPS are composed out of map tiles. A small number of map tiles is required to fill the map screen. If one or more of these required tiles are not stored on your device, they will be downloaded automatically. This only succeeds if you are connected to the internet.
On the top left of the map screen the percentage offline accessible map tiles of the currently visible area is shown. This percentage percentage is the number of offline accessible tiles at all zoom levels relative to the total number of tiles at all zoom levels. An example is shown in the figure below:
In Fig. 1 the percentage of offline accessible map tiles is 9%. By looking at the map screen you might think that all map tiles are already accessible, since the whole map screen is covered with tiles. However, if you zoom in, map tiles with a higher resolution will be loaded. If the percentage is not 100% it could be that some of the higher resolution map tiles are not offline accessible.
Downloading map tiles¶
If you press the label ‘Offline accessible: ‘ on the top left of the map screen the map download screen will appear. In this screen you can download map tiles of the area that is currently visible in the map screen.
An example of the map download screen is displayed below:
To download all map tiles of the current area, you have to press ‘Download’. The amount of MB indicates an estimate of the size of the download in megabytes.
If downloading of map tiles has been started, the download button shows how many tiles still need to be downloaded, as you can see below:
While downloading map tiles, the percentage offline accessible will increase to 100%. You can cancel the downloading of map tiles at any time by pressing ‘Stop download’.
If you wait the percentage off-line accessible will become 100% automatically, as you can see below:
If you return to the map screen and do not move or zoom out on the map, you will see that the percentage offline accessible is 100%.
In the route details screen you can make the map tiles of a route offline accessible.
Updating map tiles¶
Sometimes the map tiles will be updated. If updated map tiles have appeared and you access them via the map screen, they will be redownloaded and updated automatically.
You can update all map tiles of a certain area in the map download screen. For this you have to press ‘Update (.. MB)’ in the map download screen. When the percentage updated map tiles equals the percentage offline accessible map tiles, you have updated all offline accessible map tiles. This is the case in Fig. 2, therefore the ‘Update’ button says ‘Updated completely’.
Storing of map tiles on your device costs disk space. In the map download screen (Fig. 4) you can see how much space has been used.
‘Current map’ means the total storage of the complete current map. So in the case of Fig. 1 and Fig. 4 it means that the complete map of Great Britain uses currently 12 MB of the storage space.
‘All maps’ means the total storage of all maps together. So suppose you have also stored map tiles of New Zealand and France, ‘All maps’ indicates the total size used by France, New Zealand and Great Britain. In Fig 4 this is 36 MB.
‘Free on device’ means the amount of available storage space on your device. In Fig. 4 this is 6.4 GB.
Removing map tiles¶
If you need storage space, you can remove map tiles in the bottom of the map download screen.
For example, suppose you return from a nice vacation on the Shetland Islands. You have no plans to return in the near future, and do not need the maps anymore. Then you move the map such that only the Shetland Islands are visible. Next you press the ‘Offline accessible’ button on the top left of the screen to open the map download screen.’
If you scroll to the bottom of the map download screen you will find a ‘Remove’ button as you can see below:
By pressing the ‘Remove’ button you delete all map tiles of the currently visible area in the map screen. In the example above these are all map tiles of the Shetland Islands.